How to analyze competitors in a digital environment: 5 key aspects that should not be missed

As Nathan Rothschild said: “Whoever owns the information, owns the world.” Imagine that this is information about your competitors – would you like to receive it?

Why analyze competitors?

According to USAID-Internews, in 2019 in Ukraine, 85% of the population are active users of the Internet, 70% of the country’s population use the network every day. Just imagine, 7 out of 10 of your potential customers can find out about you in a digital environment. Moreover, according to the results of the same study, 60% of users are not prone to critical thinking and are ready to trust information from the World Wide Web. But how to get the attention of this audience for the benefit of the business? Watch how your competitors do it, and use the information to develop your own marketing strategy.

Market share of competitors: who to follow and who to forget about?

In order to use effective and working tools (possibly) slightly peeped from competitors, it’s worth understanding who to take an example from. Here it is worth evaluating the market share of the main rivals for a piece of the pie.

Just make a small remark: you can compete with companies NOT in your segment if they provide similar services or sell similar products, but otherwise, while satisfying the needs of YOUR audience.

In fact, determining market share is quite simple. You need to understand what percentage is the volume of goods or services sold (in monetary or piece terms) in total sales on the market.

On the Internet, this can be determined using search engines. Enter the name of your products or services in the search engine indicating the region where you work:

  • first place in the search results is the company that “eats” 32.5% of customers;dokya_rinka
  • the second – collects 17.4% of visitors;
  • third – 11.4%;
  • fourth – 8.1%;
  • fifth – 6.1%;
  • sixth – 4.4%;
  • seventh – 3.5%;
  • eighth – 3.1%;
  • ninth – 2.6%;
  • tenth – 2.4%;
  • the remaining 8.5% is distributed on the following pages.

These figures are approximate, as they depend on prices, the level of service, and the quality of website design. But for a basic assessment, they are worth accepting. Special services, such as Similarweb.

will help to conduct a deeper one.

Positioning and USP: “… I’m not a wolf, I’m a grandmother …”

Is the name of the companies of competitors audible?

How do they describe themselves and their activities?

What is their main slogan?

What is their unique (maybe not very, but more about that another time) offer?

Write down all the criteria and evaluate them (or rather, let them evaluate the potential consumer) on a 10-point scale from the most ridiculous to the most creative. Highlight similar points and compare them with the market share that you received in the first part of your competitor’s marketing analysis.

pozicionorovanie

Prices and products: how much?

Assortment policy is inherent to pricing policy – every economist and marketer understands this. And you need to evaluate it in conjunction!

Highlight how many product categories, brands, products in each category (and all) are represented by your competitors. For each item, conduct an analysis and compare the prices with the purchase prices (if you have such information). Or print the average market price and define your competitor in the red (above average) or green (below average) category.

The results of exploring the prices and assortment are best summarized in one chart. Then you will get an accurate picture of the “temperature” in the market.

 

The popularity of a competitor’s brand in the market or “you will know it from a thousand …”

The customer’s willingness to purchase goods is determined, inter alia, as a result of brand loyalty. But where does loyalty come from if there is no recognition? This is a vicious circle.

Find out how often the brand name is mentioned on the Internet and create a “recognition” table. This will help as a basic search by company name in Google, and special services like Popsters or Wobot. They will allow you to track the mention of the company (use all the features of the combination of the name in all languages) both on social networks and on abandoned forums. This will also determine the sources of customer attraction by companies, such as: tender sites, various ratings, media, mentions by bloggers or influencers.

Yes, all also compare the results with the data on the market share of competitors.

Brand

Competitors’ online marketing tools: what’s behind the enemy?

  • Competitor sites

Analysis of the competitors’ site should be carried out according to several criteria:

  • visual component (design, competent structure, clear navigation system),
  • completeness of the description of information about the company, services and goods (relevance of the data, literacy of the description),
  • interactive elements and methods of customer involvement (videos, unique photos, lead magnets).

Remember to check out the blog and portfolio. How much do they “praise” themselves? Is it possible to judge that competitors are experts in their field based on blog materials? How full are these pages?

Yes, we still rate it on a 10-point scale.

saiti

  • Competitor SEO tools

What are your competitors’ requests for and how successfully? There is only “spy” analytics, which you yourself will not collect. Use the services Megaindex, Ahrefs, Serpstat and Spywords. With their help, you will receive an analysis of competitors’ search queries to receive orders, contextual advertising data (and even with what budget), the presence of link mass and the use of other methods of promotion in search engines.

  • Social Networks

Facebook, VKontakte, Odnoklassniki is just the tip of the iceberg of resources uniting various audiences around the world. Using the same Popsters service, analyze competitors on social networks: find all relevant business pages and groups of competitors, determine the popularity of posts and publications and identify the trend of performance of certain companies from the “burning” market share list.

  • PR using influencers and video content

Do your competitors have their own Youtube channel or are they advertised through bloggers? Do they use video content? If so, how?

According to Renderforest analysis, in 2019 86% of online businesses saw sales growth precisely because of the “lightweight” video marketing content. Yes, the video is trending, but which one? Find out after analyzing the materials of your market neighbors.

Bonus from us: mystery shopper!

Who, if not the client, can receive the most delicious company product presentations? So become the “client” of your competitors.

Yes, use the new phone number, mail, which are not associated with any account of your company. And, of course, don’t show up.

Get everything you can: commercial offers, letters from the newsletter, market analytics (if competitors have them), reviews, links to research. This is useful to you. And you will not find it on any resource (most often), because such tools are usually used as a control shot!

tainiy_pokupatel

Summarize the results

By itself, an assessment of the indicated aspects of the company’s appearance on the network will already give you an unpowered field for the development of your own organization. But it’s better to systematize the results and put everything in one table. Compare the obtained indicators, first of all, with the market share and brand popularity in the network.

Could you draw one trend? Congratulations, you have identified the main points of your competitors marketing strategy. Ideal if you build a SWOT analysis of competitors (strengths and weaknesses, opportunities and threats). By placing yourself on the same field with your competitors, you will understand with what tools and based on what indicators your company will advance.

You can find an example of such a “field” here

Now you have a complete base for work. Not ready to spend a lot of time on such painstaking work? Contact our experts, and do what you can best yourself – develop your own successful business. Naturally, with our help!

Below we described brief points from how we conducted a marketing analysis of competitors on the network for our customers and what results such work brought!

CASE 1:

The client is a manufacturer of boiler equipment, construction of turnkey boiler houses for production enterprises.

What we examined:

analyz_konkurenti_kotli

Only by introducing the client’s business page on Facebook and launching targeted advertising we got the following results:

 fb ppc

Not bad, right? And if we hadn’t conducted an analysis of competitors, no one would have thought to introduce social networks. And by the way, the client vehemently proved to us that in social. there is no network for its target audience … But as the results showed, he was clearly mistaken.

CASE 2:

Client – employment abroad.

Analysis showed that one of the strongest competitors actively used video ads and had a good YouTube channel. Only due to the persuasion of the client to implement video marketing, we got the following results:

video_reklama

107 applications for the price of 37 UAH. With an average cost of the application throughout the account 23 UAH. Mega great result. Moreover, this is not even remarketing, namely targeting to target

See all
Do you want to get a free consultation right now?
We will contact you to discuss the details

Как анализировать конкурентов в digital-среде: 5 ключевых аспектов, которые нельзя упустить

Как говорил Натан Ротшильд: «Кто владеет информацией, тот владеет миром». Представьте, что это информация о ваших конкурентах — вы бы хотели ее получить?

Зачем анализировать конкурентов?

По данным USAID – Internews, в 2019 году в Украине 85% населения является активными пользователями сети Интернет, 70% населения страны используют сеть и вовсе каждый день. Только представьте, 7 из 10 ваших потенциальных клиентов могут узнать о вас в digital-среде. Причем, по результатам этого же исследования, 60% пользователей не склонны к критическому мышлению и готовы доверять информации из всемирной паутины. Но как получить внимание этой аудитории для пользы бизнеса? Смотрите, как это делают ваши конкуренты, и используйте информацию для разработки собственной маркетинговой стратегии.

Доля рынка конкурентов: на кого равняться, а о ком забыть?

Чтобы применить действенные и рабочие инструменты (возможно) слегка подсмотренные у конкурентов, стоит понять, с кого же брать пример. Тут стоит оценить долю рынка главных соперников за кусок пирога.

Сразу стоит сделать небольшую ремарку: вы можете конкурировать и с компаниями НЕ из вашего сегмента, если они предоставляют схожие услуги или продают аналогичные товары, но иначе, при этом, удовлетворяя потребности ВАШЕЙ аудитории.

По сути, определить долю рынка достаточно просто. Нужно понять, какой процент составляет объем реализуемых товаров или услуг (в денежном или штучном выражении) в общем объеме продаж на рынке.  

В интернете это можно определить с помощью поисковых систем. Введите название ваших товаров или услуг в поисковике с указанием региона, где вы работаете:

  • первое место в поисковой выдаче — компания, которая «съедает» 32,5% клиентов;
  • второе — собирает 17,4% посетителей;
  • третье — 11,4%;
  • четвертое — 8,1%;
  • пятое — 6,1%;
  • шестое — 4,4%;
  • седьмое — 3,5%;
  • восьмое — 3,1%;
  • девятое — 2,6%;
  • десятое — 2,4%;
  • остальные 8,5% распределяются на следующие страницы выдачи.

Эти цифры приблизительны, так как зависят от цен, уровня обслуживания, качества оформления сайта. Но для базовой оценки их стоит принять. Более глубокую помогут провести специальные сервисы, вроде Similarweb.

dokya_rinka

Позиционирование и УТП: «…я не волк, я бабушка…»

Звучное ли название компаний конкурентов?

Как они описывают себя и свою деятельность?

Какой их основной слоган?

Какое у них уникальное (может, не очень, но об этом в другой раз) торговое предложение?

Выпишите все критерии и оцените их (а лучше — дайте оценить потенциальному потребителю) по 10-бальной шкале от самого нелепого до самого креативного. Выделите схожие моменты и сопоставьте их с долей рынка, которую вы получили в первой части маркетингового анализа конкурентов.

pozicionorovanie  

Цены и товары: что почем?

Ассортиментная политика неотъемлема от ценовой политики —  это понимает каждый экономист и маркетолог. И нужно оценивать это В СВЯЗКЕ!

Выделите, сколько товарных категорий, торговых марок, товаров в каждой категории (и всего), представлено вашими конкурентами. По каждому пункту проведите анализ и сопоставьте цены с закупочными (если у вас есть такая информация). Или выведите среднерыночную цену и определите конкурента в категорию красную (выше средней) или зеленую (ниже средней).

Результаты знакомства с ценами и ассортиментом лучше всего свести на одном графике. Тогда вы получите точную картинку «температуры» на рынке.

analiz_cen

Популярность бренда конкурентов на рынке или «ты узнаешь ее из тысячи…»

Готовность клиента к покупке товара определяется, в том числе, и в результате лояльности к бренду. Но откуда взяться лояльности, если нет узнаваемости? Это замкнутый круг.

Узнайте, насколько часто название бренда упоминают в интернете и составьте таблицу «узнаваемости». В этом поможет как базовый поиск по названию компании в Google, так и специальные сервисы, вроде Popsters или Wobot. Они позволят отследить упоминание компании (используйте все возможности комбинации названия на всех языках) как в социальных сетях, так и на заброшенных форумах. Это же позволит определить и источники привлечения клиентов компаниями, такие как: тендерные площадки, различные рейтинги, СМИ, упоминания блогерами или инфлюенсерами.

Да, все также сопоставьте результаты с данными по доле рынка конкурентов.

Brand

Инструменты интернет-маркетинга конкурентов: что же в тылу у врага?

  • Сайты конкурентов

Анализ сайта конкурентов должен проходить по нескольким критериям: 

  • визуальная составляющая (дизайн, грамотная структура, понятная система навигации),
  • полнота описания информации о компании, услуг и товаров (актуальность данных, грамотность описания),
  • интерактивные элементы и способы вовлечения клиента (видео, уникальные фото, лид-магниты).

Не забудьте заглянуть в блог и портфолио. Насколько сильно себя «хвалят»? Можно ли судить, что конкуренты — эксперты в своей области — по материалам в блоге? Насколько  заполнены эти страницы?

Да, все так же оцениваем по 10-бальной шкале.

saiti

  • SEO-инструменты конкурентов

По каким запросам продвигаются ваши конкуренты и насколько успешно? Тут только «шпионская» аналитика, которую самостоятельно вы не соберете. Используйте сервисы Megaindex, Ahrefs, Serpstat и Spywords. С их помощью вы получите анализ поисковых запросов конкурентов для получения заказов, данные о контекстной рекламе у них (и даже с каким бюджетом), наличие ссылочной массы и применение других методов продвижения в поисковых системах.

  • Социальные сети

Facebook, ВКонтакте, Одноклассники — лишь верхушка айсберга ресурсов, объединяющих различные аудитории по всему миру. С помощью того же сервиса Popsters проводите анализ конкурентов в социальных сетях: находите все актуальные бизнес-страницы и группы конкурентов, определяйте популярность постов и публикаций и выявляйте тенденцию результативности тех или иных компаний из «горящего» списка доли рынка.

  • PR с помощью инфлюенсеров и видеоконтента

Есть ли у ваших конкурентов свой канал на Youtube или они рекламируются с помощью блогеров? Используют ли они видеоконтент? Если да, то как?

По данным анализа Renderforest, в 2019 году 86% бизнеса в сети наблюдали рост продаж именно благодаря «легкому» контенту видеомаркетинга. Да, видео в тренде, но какое? Узнайте это после анализа материалов ваших соседей по рынку. 

Бонус от нас: тайный покупатель!

Кто, как не клиент, может получить самые вкусные презентации продукта компании? Так станьте же «клиентом» своих конкурентов.

Да, используйте новый номер телефона, почту, которые не привязаны ни к одному аккаунту вашей компании.  И, разумеется, не показывайтесь на глаза.

Получите все, что можете: коммерческие предложения, письма из рассылки, аналитику рынка (если она есть у конкурентов), отзывы, ссылки на исследования. Это вам пригодиться. И это вы не найдете ни на одном ресурсе (чаще всего), ведь такие инструменты обычно используются в качестве контрольного выстрела!

tainiy_pokupatel

Сводите результаты

Сама по себе оценка по указанным аспектам проявления компании в сети уже даст вам непаханое поле для развития собственной организации. Но лучше систематизировать результаты и свести все в одну таблицу. Полученные показатели сравнивайте, в первую очередь, с долей рынка и популярностью бренда в сети.

Смогли вырисовать одну тенденцию? Поздравляем, вы выявили основные пункты маркетинговой стратегии конкурентов. Идеальный вариант, если вы построите SWOT-анализ конкурентов (сильные и слабые стороны, возможности и угрозы). Разместив себя на одном поле с конкурентами, вы поймете, с помощью каких инструментов и на основании каких показателей продвигаться вашей компании.

С примером такого “поля” вы можете ознакомиться по данной ссылке

Теперь у вас есть полная база для работы. Не готовы тратить массу времени на такую кропотливую работу? Обращайтесь к нашим экспертам, а сами делайте то, что умеете лучше всего —  развивайте собственный успешный бизнес. Естественно, с нашей помощью!

Ниже мы описали краткие моменты из того, как мы проводили маркетинговый анализ конкурентов в сети для наших клиентов и какие результаты такая работа принесла!

КЕЙС 1:

Клиент — производитель котельного оборудования, строительство котельных “под ключ” для производственных предприятий.

Что мы исследовали:

analyz_konkurenti_kotli

Только за счет внедрения бизнес страницы компании клиента на Facebook и запуска таргетированной рекламы мы получили следующие результаты:

fb ppc

Не плохо, да? А не проведи мы анализ конкурентов — никто бы и не подумал внедрять соц сети. А между прочим клиент яро доказывал нам, что в соц. сетях нет его целевой аудитории… Но как показали результаты он явно ошибался. 

КЕЙС 2:

Клиент — трудоустройство за границей.

Анализ показал, что один из самых сильных конкурентов активно использовал видео рекламу и имел хороший YouTube канал. Только за счет уговоров клиента внедрить видео маркетинг мы получили следующие результаты:

video_reklama

107 заявок по цене 37 грн. При средней стоимости заявки по всему аккаунту 23 грн. Мега отличный результат. Причем, это даже не ремаркетинг, а именно таргетинг на целевую

Все записи блога
Хотите получить бесплатную консультацию прямо сейчас?
Мы свяжемся с вами для обсуждения деталей