How we tried and failed to teach advertising with 1029% ROI

“Running a business without ads is like winking at girls in total darkness.” Stuart Henderson Britt

Zenith projects that the cost of advertising on the Internet will amount to more than 52% of the total advertising budget of companies by 2021. In 2019 spending on digital marketing in the world reached 47%. This is a sure sign that business is growing up and starting to understand the importance of advertising for growth and increased profits. But this does not happen to everyone on the market.

What came to us

At the end of 2018 the head of an e-store selling electric and pneumatic tools contacted us. It should be noted right away that in this case the business owner was like Shiva with six arms – he carried out all the business processes in the company. This may initially seem like an advantage, since all information comes to the same place. But only at first glance…

The task was quite simple – to audit the company’s advertising campaigns.

As a result of the audit, the following problems were identified:

  • Critical errors in the semantic kernel (lists of negative keywords, cross-negative keywords, lack of keyword queries, exact correspondence – where not needed, lack of actualization of the semantic kernel). All this wasted about 30% of the advertising budget.
  • Significant gaps in the structure, configuration and maintenance of the advertising account, which as a result wasted another 35%.
  • Parts of the necessary advertising campaigns were disabled, which indicated optimization towards last clickers without taking into account the associated conversions that could bring sufficient profit.
  • Serious gaps in ad extensions that significantly reduced performance, read – profitability.
  • Poor ad caption in terms of sales that showed very low CTR.
  • Errors in setting up the feed and Google Shopping campaigns.

Logically, we were then asked to eliminate all the problems and gaps in advertising campaigns in order to increase profits.

But there were a number of severe limitations, which made the job torture.

Sometimes breaking up is a good idea

Our predecessor, an advertising agency, had bound the client hand and foot from the very beginning of their relationship. The responsibilities of the past provider included both creation and maintenance of the website, and management of advertising campaigns. Of course, disappearance of some of the work did not make them very happy. They either did not react to our comments about the website, or they raised the price of work, or did half-fast jobs. At the same time, access to the website itself was denied specially for us (even though we ourselves could and would have liked to make the necessary changes).

In addition, the client himself was very cautious (even overwhelmingly cautious) about advertising channels in general. With all the possibilities of the niche, the launch of video and banner advertising was quite logical. But the budget was not entirely going to these other channels.

As a result, both we and the client were stuck, not able to introduce improvements from both the technical and the financial point of view.

It would seem to make sense that picking up new digital agencies should involve a break with the previous partners. But all we heard was can’ts (or wont’s). The website was still maintained by the previous contractors, and many work went through their programmers alone. We should have taken note then, but we pressed forward.

The second phase of the “fight with the windmills”

After the audit, we performed a number of works to improve the performance of AC:

  • Conducted analysis of key competitors.
  • Identified priority categories for advertising with maximum profit.
  • Compiled a strategy and tactics for introducing new AC.
  • Prepared a plan to eliminate critical errors.

Under the restrictions that were imposed on us, the work could have been done in a month stretched over several. Despite this, we showed really good results in the niche, and for the product as a whole as well:

How we tried and failed to teach advertising with 1029% ROI

case_4_1

An impressive indicator, right?

A play ought to have three acts

Although the results of the first two stages of the relationship worried us, we hoped against hope that the situation with the “offended” predecessors would finally change, the client would be amazed at the results, and at last trust us.

We were told to keep the sale price within no more than $8. To do this, we performed website optimization and set up targeted advertising.

For internal and external optimization, we did the following:

  • Compiled meta tags for new pages, and modified them for old ones.
  • Tried to develop a whole new link profile.
  • Fixed all errors that prevented website indexing.
  • Eliminated duplicates, 301 and 302 errors on the pages.
  • Built a new site map, etc.

Even taking into account all the barriers and elbow jabs from the side of the previous advertising agency, we managed to increase the number of website users more than fourfold, from 56 to 240 per day thanks to SEO (in the average price niche of a complex product). For half a year of work this amounted to:

How we tried and failed to teach advertising with 1029% ROI

case_4_2

Due to the cheapness of targeted advertising on social networks, we were able to go into that channel from scratch: Instagram and Facebook are exactly the website where our solvent audience is concentrated.

And, despite on-and-off funding, we fully customized promotional ads, product-wise remarketing, category advertising.

How we tried and failed to teach advertising with 1029% ROI

The result was a transaction price of $2.8 in remarketing and $5.27 in targeted advertising. The return on investment for social networks for 9 months amounted to 1100% (for 1 dollar of investments, we received 12 dollars of profit).

But the feedback from the client stubbornly stated that sales still fell short of competitors’. The explanation that we still did not have a YouTube channel and the advertising budget was at least 2 times lower than theirs fell on deaf ears. Rather than strive for perfection in such conditions, we declined further work.

“Only mint can make money without advertising.” Thomas Macaulay

This situation is an example of something like a suitcase without a handle. While indicators were constantly, steadily growing during the year, and with a limited budget, the return on advertising costs was more than 400%, those people should have made a decision. The decision whether to listen to experts or hold on to the old mechanisms.

If you want to get cost-effective advertising campaigns:

  • Handle all marketing channels.
  • Manage your advertising budget.
  • Analyze and compare ALL indicators with the competitors.

Want to achieve high performance even with limited funding for advertising? Ready for sales growth? Seek advice from world-class digital marketing experts and get stunning results in a month!

 

SHOW ALL CASES

Do you want to get a free consultation right now?
We will contact you to discuss the details

Кейс продвижения магазина -электро и -пневмо инструмента с рентабельностью в 1029%

“Вести бизнес без рекламы —  все равно что подмигивать девушкам в полной темноте.”Стюарт Хендерсон Бритт

Согласно прогнозам агентства Zenith, затраты на рекламу в интернете к 2021 году составят более 52% от всего рекламного бюджета компании. Так, в 2019 году показатель расходов на digital маркетинг в мире установился на отметке в 47%. Однозначно, это свидетельствует о том, что бизнес взрослеет и понимает значимость рекламы для роста и увеличения прибыли. Но так происходит не со всеми участниками рынка. 

С чем к нам пришли

В конце 2018 года к нам обратился руководитель интернет-магазина по продажам -электро и -пневмо инструмента. Стоит сразу отметить, что это именно тот случай, когда владелец бизнеса —  многорукий Шива — он выполнял все бизнес-процессы в компании. Это изначально может показаться преимуществом, так как вся информация сосредоточена в одних руках. Но это лишь на первый взгляд…

Задача ставилась достаточно простая —  провести аудит рекламных кампаний. 

В результате аудита были выявлены такие проблемы:

  • Критические ошибки в семантическом ядре (списки минус-слов, кросс минусация, отсутствие ключевых запросов, точное соответствие —  где не нужно, отсутствие актуализации семантического ядра). Что в результате “сливало” около 30% рекламного бюджета. 
  • Существенные огрехи в структуре, настройке и ведении рекламного аккаунта, что в результате слило еще около 35% рекламного бюджета. 
  • Отключение части необходимых рекламных кампаний, что говорило об оптимизации по атрибуции последнего клика без учета ассоциированных конверсий, которые могли приносить достаточную прибыль.
  • Серьезные упущения по расширениям объявлений, которые значительно снижали эффективность, а значит  — прибыльность. 
  • Слабые, с точки зрения продаж, тексты объявлений, которые показывали очень низкий CTR.
  • Ошибки в настройке фида и кампаний Google Shopping.

Вполне логично, что нам поставили новую задачу: устранить все проблемы и огрехи по рекламным кампаниям для увеличения прибыли. 

Но был ряд важных ограничений, из-за которых мы действительно со скрипом выполняли свои работы.

Иногда разрыв отношений полезен

Наш предшественник — рекламное агентство —  почти по рукам и ногам связал клиента с самого начала их сотрудничества. В функции и задачи прошлой компании входило как создание и ведение сайта, так и управление рекламными кампаниями. Разумеется, потеря клиента не очень их обрадовала. На наши замечания по сайту либо не реагировали, либо завышали ценник на работу, либо делали на тяп-ляп. При этом, доступ к самому сайту именно для нас был закрыт (хотя мы сами могли и хотели внести необходимые правки).

Кроме того, сам клиент очень осторожно (даже чрезмерно) относился к рекламным каналам вообще. При всех возможностях ниши вполне логичен был запуск видео и баннерной рекламы. Но, бюджет не выделялся на другие каналы от слова совсем. 

В итоге, и мы, и клиент, оказались в заложниках ситуации: не иметь возможности внедрять улучшения как с технической, так и с финансовой точки зрения. 

Казалось бы, в ситуации сотрудничества с новыми digital-агентством  уже должна подтолкнуть разрывать отношения со старыми партнерами. Но все шло слишком через “не могу” (или “не хочу”). Сайт был все еще на поддержке у прошлых подрядчиков, и многие работы проходили только через их программистов. Уже тут нам стоило бы насторожиться, но мы шли вперед. 

Второй этап “сражения с ветряными мельницами”

После аудита, мы выполнили ряд работ по улучшению показателей РК:

  • Провели анализ ключевых конкурентов. 
  • Выделили приоритетные категории для рекламы с  максимальной прибылью.
  • Составили стратегию и тактику внедрения новых РК.
  • Подготовили план устранения критических ошибок. 

В условиях действующих ограничений, работа, которую мы могли выполнить за месяц, затянулась на несколько месяцев. Несмотря на это, мы показали действительно хорошие результаты в нише, и по продукту в целом:

Кейс продвижения магазина -электро и -пневмо инструмента с рентабельностью в 1029%

Кейс продвижения магазина -электро и -пневмо инструмента с рентабельностью в 1029%

Казалось бы, внушительный показатель, верно? 

Если пьеса — то в трех действиях

Результаты первых двух этапов сотрудничества хотя и настораживали нас, но мы уперто надеялись, что вот прямо сейчас ситуация с “обиженными” предшественниками измениться, клиент будет поражен результатами, и, наконец-то, нам довериться. 

Мы получили задачи провести обеспечить стоимость продажи в рамках не более 8$. Для этого мы выполнили оптимизацию сайта и настроили таргетированную рекламу. 

Для внутренней и внешней оптимизации мы:

  • Составили на новые страницы, и доработали на старых страницах мета-теги.
  • С нуля разработали ссылочный профиль. 
  • Исправили все ошибки, которые мешали индексации сайта. 
  • Устранили дубли, ошибки 301 и 302 на страницах.
  • Построили новую site map и т.д.

Даже с учетом всех преград и подножек со стороны прошлого рекламного агентства, нам удалось увеличить число пользователей сайта более чем в 4 раза: с 56 до 240 в день благодаря SEO (в средней ценовой нише сложного продукта). За пол года работы:

Кейс продвижения магазина -электро и -пневмо инструмента с рентабельностью в 1029%

Кейс продвижения магазина -электро и -пневмо инструмента с рентабельностью в 1029%

Ввиду дешевизны таргетированной рекламы в соцсетях, мы полностью запустили этот канал с нуля: в Instagram и Facebook как раз те площадки, где сосредоточена наша платежеспособная аудитория.

И, даже несмотря на периодическое, прерывистое финансирование, мы полностью настроили акционные объявления, потоварный ремаркетинг, категорийную рекламу. 

Кейс продвижения магазина -электро и -пневмо инструмента с рентабельностью в 1029%

Результат цена за транзакцию 2,8$ в ремаркетинге и 5,27$ в таргетированной рекламе. Окупаемость инвестиций на соцсети за 9 месяцев у нас составила 1100% (на 1 доллар вложений мы получали 12 долларов прибыли).

Но обратная связь от клиента уперто гласила, что продажи все еще “не дотягивают” до показателей конкурентов. Объяснение, что у нас все еще нет YouTube канала и рекламный бюджет минимум в 2 раза ниже, не дали своих плодов. С прерогативой стремиться к идеальному в таких условиях работы, мы от дальнейшей работы отказались. 

“Делать деньги без рекламы может только монетный двор”. Томас Маколей

На примере данного кейса очень ярко отображается ситуация, когда “и бросить жалко, и поднять трудно”. В ситуации, когда в течении года показатели постоянно, уверенно росли, и, в условиях ограниченного бюджета, окупаемость затрат на рекламу была больше 400%, стоило принимать решение. Это решение: прислушиваться к экспертам или держаться за старые механизмы.

Если вы стремитесь получить рентабельные рекламные кампании:

  • Работайте со всеми маркетинговыми каналами.
  • Управляйте рекламным бюджетом.
  • Анализируйте и сравнивайте ВСЕ показатели с конкурентами. 

Хотите достичь высоких показателей даже в условиях ограниченного финансирования на рекламу? Готовы к росту продаж? Обратитесь за консультацией к экспертам digital-маркетинга мирового уровня, и получайте ошеломительные результаты уже за месяц!

Отчет в режиме реального времени предоставлен по этой ссылке.

 

Хотите получить бесплатную консультацию прямо сейчас?
Мы свяжемся с вами для обсуждения деталей